PDA

View Full Version : dual XP


chafik_73
11-02-2002, 11:27 AM
hi,

I'm just wondering if i can use dual-amd XP, and if yes wich motherbord.

thx

MaDSheeP
11-02-2002, 01:04 PM
i would say.. any of the major motherboards will work well.. asus.. abit... tyan... ::shrug::

but as for XP.. only XP Professional will work with two processors,
XP Home edition only supports 1 processor

GregHess
11-02-2002, 04:43 PM
Mad,

He's talking about Dual AMD Athlon XP Processors. :)

And no, you can no longer Dual XP without physically modifying the L5 bridges on the chips, and by using very specific bios versions for certain motherboards.

If your thinking about Dual 2400+ XP's, its near impossible, as these chips are the Thoughbred Rev B processors, and are slightly physically different from the 2200+ and previous Tbred Athlon processors.

The only successfully Dual 2400+ MP (Which still isn't successful because its locking up rather consistently) was done on the MSI Dual Athlon board, with the lastest beta bios, and by closing a variety of bridges on the processors with a conductive pen.

You can read more about this on the 2cpu.com forums.

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 08:01 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.