PDA

View Full Version : Need advice for components

Tarkus
08-16-2005, 05:54 PM
Hi, im a student and work with maya for my modeling and animation, and i render using Mental Ray.. im buying new components for my workstation, (cpu, motherboard, video card, memory). I really need something that will run very smooth and fast in the viewport so that i can work productively and fast with my models and animations.. rendering is a different story, i thought the X2 4200+ would be good enough for rendering.. but the main concern is the viewport. i NEED a fast and smooth viewport.. i was told it was the gfx card that determined the performance of the viewport and workspace.. i thought getting a Geforce 7800GTX and an A8N-SLI deluxe MB would work fine.. but then i was told not to get a geforce 7800GTX, and to get a FireGL or a quadro.. Personaly i love NVidia.. and i dont want to spend all that much money.. so i thought maybe the 7800GTX would be a good choice.. my budjet for the 4 components is $1,600.00 (cad) and i need some advice on what to get..

Answers are greatly apprecaited.. Thanks in advance.

Tarkus.

http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/288/tarkussig8lh.gif

SweetDreamz
08-16-2005, 07:01 PM
If you're just getting the motherboard and CPU, then go with what you have.

A decent Quadro card would just make you broke. Softmod the 7800 to a Quadro.

Tarkus
08-16-2005, 07:37 PM
what is softmodding and how does it work??

TheCleaner
08-16-2005, 08:06 PM
hmm, i recommend the X2 4200, 2x1GB OCZ ram, which would allow you to overclock the 4200 so it performs more like a higher model (which will give an all around boost, in signle and multithreaded tasks, as well as memory intensive tasks).. the 7800GTX is a gaming card, but if its possible to softmod to quadro, definetly get it if it ties in with the budget. if its not possible to softmod it (yet), get the highest end 6800 which can.