PDA

View Full Version : Modeling Demo Reel

kobeone
08-15-2005, 04:53 PM
Hey everyone,

This is my first try at making a demo reel and I would love some feedback for the next go around.

Demo Reel (http://jacobipickett.com/demoreel/jacobipickett_demoreel.wmv) <---------- WMV 9MB

Demo Reel (http://jacobipickett.com/demoreel/jacobipickett_demoreel.mov) <---------- MOV 9MB

kobeone
08-24-2005, 03:52 PM
WOW, not even one comment. It can't be that bad.

mjkennedy
08-24-2005, 05:10 PM
No offense, but there's not much to comment on. I mean your models are nice and stylistic, but they're uber simplistic. The point of a Modeling reel is to show your an amazing modeler, and to do that, you really need to show complex, super detailed stuff. As well, even if you added some textures it would help make your models look more impressive.

As it stands, your models would probably look great in a ANIMATION reel, where you'll most often find farely simplistic models, given that the focus is on the animation rather then the modeling. But if you want to be a modeler, I would in my opinion start on some more complex stuff (if you dont already have any), and display that instead.

Hope this helps, (and wasn't too harsh),

Matt

shakii
08-24-2005, 05:38 PM
The compositing in the still was nice... you showed more of that skill than modeling`s.. that tells you how much more focus you should put on your models if you want to showcase your modeling skills.

Tasimasu
08-24-2005, 08:02 PM
ı m not modeler but they looks fine. ı think main topic is show your power. so if you want to impress people you need to add more models... but your way clear just keep working.

absent1001
08-24-2005, 08:26 PM