PDA

View Full Version : Clockwork Alex

remcv8
08-14-2005, 08:57 PM
I got an itch this morning and decided to take a break from my Fool pic. I'm a big fan of Clockwork Orange and the character of Alex.

Let me know what you think.

remcv8

remcv8
08-14-2005, 10:25 PM
Here's a shot with a little shadows and highlights. Right now though I am at a point where I look at this and think, "It looks too airbrushed".

How can I make this look more realistic, or less airbrushed.

Anything would help.

remcv8

remcv8
08-15-2005, 02:14 AM
Used texture brush for skin highs and shadows on this one.

remcv8
08-15-2005, 03:22 AM
Ok, here's more.

Critiques??? Need insight.

nealb4me
08-15-2005, 04:26 AM
Hi,

I'm still learning about painting myself but there's a few things I notice about your image.

-The eyes are an unrealistic blue. Too saturated and too bright.
-Same problem with the mouth so far, too red.
-The skin tone needs more colour variation which is why you are getting the "airbrushed" look, as well as the painting technique.

Stop trying to be precious about keeping your silhouette it's restricting you too much. I can see you have painted a little bit near the hair, a bit near the collar etc.

I suggest working in layers but not necessarily layers in photoshop. Do the face then the hair, then the collar and then the hat.

Hope that gives you some ideas.

Cheers,

-Neal

remcv8
08-15-2005, 05:44 AM
Thanks nealb4me,

I appreciate the advice. I think that I need to work on one aspect at a time like you mentioned. Eventhough I create each portion in seperate layers, I still tend to jump around, out of focus. Maybe I'm too eager. There's no deadline, so what's the rush? Right?