PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave rendering engine opinions

papillon68
08-14-2005, 05:39 PM
Hi all, I'm very new to the world of 3D, and i have read on more than one magazine that Lightwave rendering engine is not comparable (in terms of quality) to 3ds max Mental Ray or Brazil rendering engines. They state that LW rendering engine is some steps back and that would need a major upgrade. What is your opinion about it ?
I have seen some LW renderings that seems pretty much photorealistic to me, but not being an expert i cannot tell by myself.
Thanks

Lewis3D
08-14-2005, 07:12 PM
Hi !

Are you SURE you read it right ? MAybe you missed some things in those magazines. LWs BUILT in renderer is excellent in terms of Quality no matter to what you compare it. Only thing where it is little behind is rendering speed (mainlly mc radiosity) but that is subject to change when LW9 hits the street.

telamon
08-14-2005, 09:24 PM
you can find a lot of stupid words in Magazine.

LW's renderer is good and the quality of the pic is got at 90 % by the artist.

Finally, Mental Ray is a fantastic renderer but setting it up is far from obvious. LW's renderer might look technically a bit weaker but so simpler to set up.

My last word, Brazil is an expensive third party renderer, it does not come shipped with 3DS Max.

c-g
08-14-2005, 10:16 PM
LW's render engine is very good but it is showing its age. If you deny that you are living in a vacuum. Take a look at some of the features of the other render engines mentioned. There are a LOT of this LW doesn't do or just does do as well as the others. With that said, not every render needs all the bells and whistles. LW still pulls its own weight but changes are desperatly needed. The developers know it needs to advance and they will make those changes.

papillon68
08-14-2005, 11:15 PM
LW's render engine is very good but it is showing its age.