PDA

View Full Version : Complex rigs, How to?


telamon
08-11-2005, 04:11 PM
I am in the process of rigging a fairly detailed character, and I want to build a complex rig because I prefer this to having 100 endomorphs to fix the deformations.

Here what I am aiming at...

From Kretin:
http://www.zerogravity.com.au/temp/ZGE-SpawnRig.gif

From MikeRB:
http://www3.telus.net/paratrooper/arm.gif
http://www3.telus.net/paratrooper/demonM2.gif

is there any tip to start such a complex rig? Have you got any reference for this type of rig ?

T4D
08-11-2005, 05:11 PM
check flay for a plugin called muscle bone and uses that
you won't see too much rigging at that level for download cause it's a major job
I have done afew myself and it's week or even more to get all of that going correctly and at a level where a animator get uses it ( AGAIN BIG JOB IN LW ) and even then you have some holes in the whole process..:rolleyes:

it's not all that hard, once you play with the muscle bone plugin awhile AND you'll also need to get comfy with Expressions too it will come to you.

But it feels alittle like,.. 2 steps forward. 1 step back type of work. but it can be done :thumbsup:

RobPowers
08-11-2005, 05:22 PM
You might want to try the RV_rigging tools for lightwave too. It contains a very nice muscle plugin that is a breeze to setup. You can find it here:

http://www.topix.com/reevan/spine/

telamon
08-11-2005, 07:40 PM
Thanks dudes,

I have the muscle bone plugin and I am also able to write the expression / follower which generates it muscle bone. In fact, my concern is to find a tutorial on how to place properly the hold bones and the muscle bones themselves... It is not only common sense (I have bought some) but it is also a sort of art that I would like to master soon :D

T4D
08-12-2005, 02:21 AM
telamon you'll have no problem :thumbsup:

play with the muscle bonein a simple scene first and you'll work it out

one more thing keep in mind the animator who has to uses the rig

I have Not gone to that level of having 2 rigs yet
One fully on muscle bone rig ( slow to animate ) and another K,I,S,S built for animation speed
both with the same control centers and you uses Motion mixer to transfer the motion data cross again havn't done that yet myself, But if your rig gets too slow to animate with remember the option :thumbsup:


These types rigs are really the main reason i checked out XSI, it's alot different over there :)

telamon
08-12-2005, 12:33 PM
Only for a spine and pecs, I am laying out 40 bones. I am currently using the RV_Rigging tools which include a muscle bone plugin. The results are not quite satisfactory ATM, but :wip:

CGTalk Moderation
08-12-2005, 12:33 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.