PDA

View Full Version : computer for work of 15 million faces ?????

ALKENDY2006
08-10-2005, 09:21 PM
hellow

i am an architect and i work in the field of animation work i have faced many problems with 2 projects i build traditional city inside 3 d max by the help of autocad the total faces 10 million faces approxiamtly in the last process of the work the material and lighting the 3d max close immediately when i press render buttons i try many times to make the work good in rendering but i cant unfortunatly i tried to use ray traced shadow , adv. ray tr shadow, area shadow and the shadow map in the last of sulotions the shadow came not right without this type of shadow i cant render the work

now i have similar project but more bigger and i want to buy workstation

i want the advice of the proffesional members who have same problems before and how i can solve it

is the windows environment not good for 3d work?

if it is not good what is the best system i can install special 3dmax on it if it is possiple?

if any body tell me about the good vga card and other hardware also for this type of work

Sephiros9883
08-10-2005, 09:56 PM
I think the real problem is 3ds max....I don't really see it supporting 15m trinagles....

How much ram do you currently have? what is the sice of your shadow maps, how many light source do you have?

Are you working on windows xp pro?

I think the real issue here is the RAM. Get 2gig of ram at least, and I don't think going for 4gig would be a bad idea either....can't have too much RAM (although make sure you have top notch quality motherboard that can handle the 4gig)

VGA card you'll have no chocie to go but on professionnal level, like Nvidia Quadros.

But honestly i think the proble is that max cannot support so many polys. I'd try with XSI

ALKENDY2006
08-10-2005, 10:10 PM
thank you for reply

very fast i work on 2 pc

first comp

asus mother board p4c_800_e

intel processor first 3.2 ghz ht

2 gb of ram twinmos 512x4 400 bus speed