PDA

View Full Version : What type of user are you?

JeffB
08-09-2005, 01:52 PM
I'm looking to satisfy my curiuosity. I wonder how many people here use Ligthwave professsionally; to make money? How many people use Lightwave as a hobby or student? And do you think that matters to the overall program/development of Lightwave.

It seems to me that Ligthwave has a large hobby/student base and a rather smaller professional base. I could be wrong in this, which is why I ask. It seems to me that Newtek is lowering the price point in order to attract more hobbyists and student users.

BTW, I use Lightwave (and Maya) professionally. Though I have used many other 3D apps in the past.

Jeffrey Baker,
Dancing Bear Graphics, Inc.

PetterSundnes
08-09-2005, 02:05 PM
I use LightWave to create interactive 3D interiors with baked radiosity. Professional? I dont know, but atleast to make money :)

http://petter.ms/voyager/

tufif
08-09-2005, 02:09 PM
I'm just a hobbyist. When I get better I wouldn't mind getting paid though :)
I studdied music and got into animation as a hobby. In the past year I've gotten pretty obsessed with it, but honestly I'd prefer to just be rich and spend my time being creative for the sake of being creative. Hmmm, I think I'll go pick up a scratch ticket ;)

T4D
08-09-2005, 02:17 PM
character animator, Rigger, TD in LW for contract work, also use XSI/pointoven for the heavy stuff.

johnnyh66
08-09-2005, 02:39 PM
Professional user.
I was a Max 1.2 user about 8 years ago (3DS v.4 before that) but made the switch at a small company when I saw it's rendering capabilities. I've also brought LW to 3 cmpanies I've worked for... replacing Max in one, C4D in another and showing several Maya users the "Light" at the 3rd. That was my biggist surprise... that Maya users were impressed at it's speed and ease of use :applause:
I do think it's much tougher being a professional LW user as opposed to Max or Maya... at least here in Chicago.

PetterSundnes