PDA

View Full Version : Vanishing Point (cheating?)

Russo
08-08-2005, 05:14 AM
Hi there... reading one edition of DC comics 100 Bullets (45 page 20)by Brian Azzarello and Eduardo Risso, I was impressed by the angle variation of many scenes and their perspective drawing and I traced digitally a few lines to check out how accurate it was.
Is it my impression or the artist faked it?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v256/alphagain/vp.jpg

Peddy
08-08-2005, 06:00 AM
comic book art? im not an expert, or even an avid fan, but arent the drawings (at least) done by hand, or at least, not digitally? and even if they are, i dont see much of an issue with using vanishing point. i think its a wonderful tool. its just as hard to realise an effective layout and perspective conceptually than it is to realise it physically.

stepington
08-08-2005, 06:14 AM
A wise man once told me that the only rule in art is to cheat and get away with it. . . .

Russo
08-08-2005, 06:22 AM
yeah, I agree 100%. What I'm pointing out is that parallel lines should converge to a single vanishing point (in case of 1 point perspective), and the artist used two different points, which makes me think that the perspective is wrong. The cheating in the topic was about guessing a vanishing point that is on the page, not the use of perspective drawing itself :)

stepington
08-08-2005, 06:43 AM
Ah, the joys of expression beyond the walls of mathematics.
http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/87/calrue3zu.jpg

Guy In Rubber Suit
08-08-2005, 06:44 AM
Well I guess it could be a mistake, or it could also be that the artist was under a time constraint and didn't have time to refine it.

I say, as long as it looks good, then leave it. You can bitch and moan all you want about it being wrong or right, but it won't matter if it doesn't look good and appealing. Of course it could also be done as a way for effect.

Schwinnz
08-08-2005, 07:37 AM