PDA

View Full Version : K8WE Will Not Power Up... Urgent!

|Kayura|
08-08-2005, 05:37 AM
Hey guys.

I've talked to a few people on the forum that have this mobo, so I am hoping someone may know something. I got my new machine on Friday, spent all weekend retro fitting it. I took out the stock coolers on the CPUS, and put in Zalmans... Added 3 more hard drives, a cooling system (air), and transplanted the system in a much better case...

However, now it won't power up at all, and I can not seem to locate a problem. I know the enermax has enough power...

Here is the odd part, when I hit the power button, my hard drive light goes on (for as long as you hold the button), and the keyboard lights blink quickly.

Any ideas?! This is the 3rd machine I've built so it's not like I'm a total newb. I can't figure it out, and I am panicing now because I hope I didn't damage the board somehow taking off those damn stock coolers and I'd rather not call the manufac. just yet.

Help?!
-Kay

enygma
08-08-2005, 05:52 AM
Try a different video card. I had an issue where I had purchased a PNY QuadroFX 3400 and it would cause my system not to power up. It would get to the point where the keyboard light would blink, but nothing after that. The card would work in another machine, but not on my K8WE. I had the card replaced with the same card and it worked fine. Might have been a slight defect in the PCB.

|Kayura|
08-08-2005, 05:59 AM
Thank you for the suggestion. I acutally have that same card. I did infact move it to the two different x16 connectors, and remove it completely from the system after that, no change...

Thanks though... I was thinking that too. I've pretty much removed just about everything from the machine.

enygma
08-08-2005, 06:28 AM
PNY probably got the card back from me and resold it to you... :D