PDA

View Full Version : Why have two screens?


Elsie
08-06-2005, 07:58 PM
Hi there,

This might be a pretty daft question from a relative newbie, but in the threads where everyone was posting their workspaces, I noticed that most of you guys had two screens. How come? How does this work?

Thanks ^_^, I'm ever curious!

JDex
08-06-2005, 08:08 PM
Why?

More screen real-estate provides for the ability to comfortably display extra toolbars, reference images, webbrowsers (great for research and tutorials... and forums)...

It also is great for texturing to have your 3D interface in one screen and Photoshop/Painter in the other. In general it just makes life easier if you can afford the luxury.

You just need a video card that supports 2 monitors (most these days) or a second video card. Windows, OSX and Linux all pretty much support it automatically and offer a few ways to customize the configuration.

It's one of those things that is difficult to grasp the need for until you try it... then it's kind of like broadband internet access. Dial-up just doesn't feel right after using broadband.

MadMax
08-06-2005, 08:50 PM
3 or more screens gives amazing visual when flying a fighter simulator :)

CGTalk Moderation
08-06-2005, 08:50 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.