PDA

View Full Version : Will Lightwave accept models created in Solidworks?


tgordon
08-04-2005, 08:32 PM
Hello everyone,

I am considering using LightWave to animate several projects. However, I have created all of my 3D models in SolidWorks, is there a way of importing my vast library of models into LightWave so that I do not have to remodel them all over again?

Thanks for any help

telamon
08-04-2005, 11:59 PM
It is quite impossible to import models from Solidworks straight into LW. Even using a .dxf output does not give satisfactory results.

I use this (http://www.okino.com/conv/conv.htm) to convert the Solidworks object and import them smoothly in Lightwave. This program is worth its cost IMHO.

Orkman
08-05-2005, 04:39 AM
Solidworks outputs STL files as well. We get all of our models from manufacturers in STL format from Solidworks, then import into MAX, Maya or Lightwave for cleanup and texturing.

Check Flay.com for an STL importer. I have an LScript at work that does it and it's free, but I'll have to check tomorrow what the name of it is and where I got it from.

Good luck!

threedeworks
08-05-2005, 08:21 AM
Hello everyone,

I am considering using LightWave to animate several projects. However, I have created all of my 3D models in SolidWorks, is there a way of importing my vast library of models into LightWave so that I do not have to remodel them all over again?

Thanks for any help

looks like a job for polytrans (www.okino.com). with it you can batch convert all your files (it can read native solidworks data) and i've heard it does work quite well!

noiseboy
08-05-2005, 11:30 AM
I think you mean this Orkman.
SHM STL tools
http://www.chromecow.com/downloads.htm

Colin

Orkman
08-05-2005, 02:52 PM
Yep, I was coming here to post the link...and you beat me to it Noiseboy. It works fine, but usually requires some poly cleanup.

tgordon
08-05-2005, 03:13 PM
Thanks for the help. I will checkout the different converters that you all have suggested.

Tstokes
08-05-2005, 03:53 PM
A $20 program called accutrans works like a champ for me.

Save the solidworks part or assembly as a single .stl or a bunch of
them in one folder. Then use multiple open in Accutrans and it will
put each part in a separate layer....sweeeet.

Then save it as a lightwave file.

Open it in lightwave.

cheers

http://www.micromouse.ca/

CGTalk Moderation
08-05-2005, 03:53 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.