PDA

View Full Version : How should my upgrade going to be?

tecsun
08-01-2005, 12:09 PM
My current system:
P4 1.6 ghz
512 mb RAM
On-board display (last card has broken down)

I'm having this low performance system for running 3dsmax and photoshop currently (btw, I'm just beginner). But now I plan for an upgrade, with budget USD 130 - 160. I have 3 options:
(1) buy a better graphic card only
(2) buy an cheaper graphic card & add one more 512mb RAM to my system
(3) get a graphic card and upgrade cpu (by trade-in)

for the graphic, please help me decide whether:
(1) Geforce 5200
(2) Ati Radeon 9250
(3) or please suggest any card to me based on my budget.

Thank you very much. :D

varzock
08-01-2005, 01:19 PM
My current system:
P4 1.6 ghz
512 mb RAM
On-board display (last card has broken down)

I'm having this low performance system for running 3dsmax and photoshop currently (btw, I'm just beginner). But now I plan for an upgrade, with budget USD 130 - 160. I have 3 options:
(1) buy a better graphic card only
(2) buy an cheaper graphic card & add one more 512mb RAM to my system
(3) get a graphic card and upgrade cpu (by trade-in)

for the graphic, please help me decide whether:
(1) Geforce 5200
(2) Ati Radeon 9250
(3) or please suggest any card to me based on my budget.

Thank you very much. :D

Hey there, glad to see another upgrader hehe :thumbsup:

What I've been hearing from people on this forum, you'd better upgrade your memory to at least 2Gb but I don't know how much that costs at where you live. And another thing to update is your processor.

About your graphics card, I got Ati Radeon 9250 and it hasn't really assured me of its power. It's kinda slow on my system and that's why'd personally recommend the Geforce but yea it's a bit difficult with such a small budget, welcome to the family :shrug:Hope this helped at least a bit

lots
08-01-2005, 01:53 PM