PDA

View Full Version : Zbrush and Lightwave

assistant pimp
07-31-2005, 06:35 PM
I have a lil modelling project that I think can benefit from the detailing abilities of zbrush. But I hardly ever hear of a Lightwave a zbrush combo. Is it not wise to use LW and zbrush together? Also can someone recommend some zbrush trainings (from experience)? I am looking at digitaltutors and kurv, but they seem so similar.

Fongool
07-31-2005, 09:52 PM
Well, here's a plugin to help LW and Zbrush work together. Looks pretty easy.

http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4721

I'm no expert (so please anyone, jump in and slap me if I'm being an idiot) but from what I recall, the only real "problem" is that LW doesn't support normal maps yet. As I understand it, you have to either use the maps created in Zbrush as mere bump maps, or crank the poly resolution on your object to obscene levels and apply the maps as a surface deformation.

But it was months ago when I was researching this and I've forgotten most of what I learned already and I've never gotten around to actually trying it out, so I'm prolly just talking out of my ass... :D

But the plugin sure does look useful!

assistant pimp
07-31-2005, 10:04 PM
lol.....thx fongool. I will look into that. Zbrush seems so fantastic and with Siggraph coming up I dont know what the future holds for my $$$$....LW 8.5?, FPRIME/G2, That lightwave viewer plugin, Zbrush. Modo??....so many choices so lil money. Thanks for the info tho.

Zarathustra
07-31-2005, 10:31 PM
Steve Warner's tutorial (http://www.stevewarner.com/Tutorials/zBrush/zBrushTut.html)

You need Lynx's Normal Displacement plug instead of LW's native one.
You also need a 16 bit tiff import plug. It's shareware, but only available for PC.
I just read a Mac guy suceeded in converting to 16bit cineon and LW took that.
LW lacks micropoly displacement, which compounds the need to crank up the subpatch level. 8 or 9 isn't too bad, with the displacement also applied as a bump.