PDA

View Full Version : XSI Foundation worth $680 ?

ecas
07-31-2005, 09:16 AM
Hello
Im not new to modeling but Im new to high poly
modeling and animation, Im currently looking for a good 3D package
I would learn and eventually buy. I thought about 3 softwares
Animation:Master - There is no poly modeling so Im puting it aside.
Lightwave3D - I couldn't find any reseller in Israel
and XSI Foundation - I found a reseller and he is close to me but the thing is
the reseller sell XSI for $630 plus VAT and everything it's about $680
now I don't know if XSI worth that match, what do you guys think?

Im starting to learn XSI with the mod tool but I don't want to learn
a package for a few month just to understand it's too expensive for it's worth.

alona
07-31-2005, 10:24 AM
Many people, especially on this forum :), believe that XSI is easily one of the best 3D packages around - even the Foundation version - so $680 is still a bargain. Of course, you can get the package for less than $500 by purchasing online. Why do you prefer a reseller?

It will certainly be false to say that "XSI is too expensive for its worth" in general - but of course this also depends on your particular preferences. Find the package you feel most comfortable with, and learn it.

JDex
07-31-2005, 10:30 AM
Apparently online purchasing is not available to residents of all countries, it's my understanding that this is due to long-ago signed exclusive distribution agreements with resellers in various regions...

As to your question. How can anyone really answer that? It's worth $500 to me currently, was worth $2000 back when it was $2000.

Chris-TC
07-31-2005, 10:44 AM
Personally I think if you had to pay twice that price it'd still be easily worth it. XSI is nothing short of amazing.

T4D
07-31-2005, 11:40 AM
look at the other Packages
Maya vs XSI FND is cheaper better value
C4D vs XSI FND alot cheaper alot better character tools
Max vs XSI FND alot cheaper ( not a max user so that's all i know )