PDA

View Full Version : Cityscapes

DoogalSnr
07-28-2005, 12:54 PM
Hi,

I'm toying with a graphic novel project I've been working on, on and off for the past 6 years or so. I've got to a point where I want to create some visuals of the places in the book I have in my head. Most significantly a city.

So I was wondering if anyone had any tips or advice about creating Cityscapes?

Thanks,
Doogal

Lunatique
07-29-2005, 04:32 AM
1) perspective

2) atmospheric haze

3) reflections on windows and other objects

4) ambient light vs. direct light

5) interesting lighting

DoogalSnr
07-29-2005, 12:02 PM
Thanks Lunatique. I'll keep those points in mind.

I can see the city in my minds eye... Time to get drawing!

Thanks,
Doogal

mangual
07-29-2005, 12:12 PM
To follow onto what Lunatique said... don't forget to add buildings. Sometimes they really help a cityscape look very realistic.

alexyork
07-29-2005, 01:27 PM
To follow onto what Lunatique said... don't forget to add buildings. Sometimes they really help a cityscape look very realistic.

buildings in a cityscape?! are you mad?! just kidding :) don't forget "mood". define a clear mood and atmosphere really early on. how visible certain elements are will be determined by this, so you can easily avoid spending days painting a gorgeous structure when it's gonna end up in shadow by the end anyway. and depth. you might well end up with hundreds of buildings, so getting a clear focal point in there will be a challenge. that's where your atmospheric haze can come in handy as lunatique said.

DrFx
07-29-2005, 03:30 PM
History. Most cities will be a mixture of buildings of several epochs, and it will totally define a city's character. You can't compare, for instance, Dallas or Miami to Prague or Berlin.

DoogalSnr
07-29-2005, 04:02 PM
These tips are good. I particularly like your one, mangual, I would have never thought of adding buildings in! ;-) Keep them coming, please.