PDA

View Full Version : Expressions for Characters . . .

Peace455
10-28-2002, 10:52 PM
Hello All

I am very new to expressions and am making my first practises on a character of mine.

I was trying to setup up some simple expressions for the character to shift his weight when he does certain things, such as lift his leg, he moves to the right slightly to shift his weight to the other leg. etc.

I created an expression so that when he moves his foot forward, that value divided by 2 is how much the root of the skeleton should move, and it worked but it created some what of a problem:

When it calculated that expression it moved the character back some, and I wasn't sure why but then I realized it calcualted my expression (when he moves his foot forward, that value divided by 2 is how much the root of the skeleton should move) and there was already a value for the root and he moved back.

My question is how can I reset the Values to 0 so that the character wont move back but will move forward when I move his leg?

I also have more questio but I'm away from home, and can't remember them ,and will be back to post them later.

but this is it so far.

Thanks!:D

john_homer
10-28-2002, 11:15 PM
if i understand your question..

assuming forward is Z.
if your root value for translate Z is say 5 at the default position just slap that value into the expression to accomodate for it. ie.

root.tz = (((L_foot.tz + R_foot.tz) /2)) - 5);

hope this helps..
.j

ps. this will take a lot of control away from the animator and may be more trouble than its worth.. might pay to make this "automation" something the animator can turn ON/OFF.

john_homer
10-28-2002, 11:17 PM
oops, an extra ")"
should be

root.tz = (((L_foot.tz + R_foot.tz) /2) - 5);

-dc-
10-29-2002, 12:11 AM
after getting alot of feedback about expressions from animators, I would advise you not to use them...however, for what you requested....this is what I do: