PDA

View Full Version : Wacom: Graphire or Intuos?

Calintz
07-27-2005, 02:43 AM
Im a digital artist doing 2d work and im at a bit of a cross-roads and would like everyones opinion. I dont know wether i should get a wacom graphire3 extra large sized tablet (roughly a5 sized drawing area, 21cm by 15cm), or a small intuos3 tablet (only 12cm by 10cm). Both of which are exactly the same price.

It seems that the intuos is far better than the graphire, however its the large size of the xl graphire that appeals to me. Does a larger graphics tablet make it easier to paint in photoshop/painter?
Or are the features of Intuos worth sacrificing size for?

allenbussell
07-27-2005, 03:17 AM
For me, I like the intuos better - no matter size.

VisualKing
07-27-2005, 03:24 AM
Im a digital artist doing 2d work and im at a bit of a cross-roads and would like everyones opinion. I dont know wether i should get a wacom graphire3 extra large sized tablet (roughly a5 sized drawing area, 21cm by 15cm), or a small intuos3 tablet (only 12cm by 10cm). Both of which are exactly the same price.

It seems that the intuos is far better than the graphire, however its the large size of the xl graphire that appeals to me. Does a larger graphics tablet make it easier to paint in photoshop/painter?
Or are the features of Intuos worth sacrificing size for?

Well, i can't really help you on the graphire3 tablet, but i do have the Wacom intous3 tablet. I have a 9x12inch but of course you do not need it that big. It depends how you work, in small strokes or large. From what i know, is that most professional digital artists recommand intous tablets over the graphire. Its very smooth, and the pressure sensitivity is just awsome. I would say that the intous is probably a better choice in quality and for the over all artist.