PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading my system (miniATX), help needed

varzock
07-26-2005, 10:42 PM
Hi all, been reading this forum for few days now and this is my first post on Technical and Hardware forum :)

So, I'm upgrading my system which is as follows (please don't laugh :D):

GC: ASUS 9250 128MB VGA+DVI+TV-OUT
Processor: Athlon XP 1100
MB: AsRock K7S41GX
Case: Antec Aria
Memory: 2 x 512Mb Kingston memory
HD: 2 x Samsung 160Gb

I work as a graphic designer and a freelancer web designer. Most often I use Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator but sometimes I also have to work on 3DS Max.

My budget is not big, maybe about 500 dollars and I've thought to change at least the processor and graphics card.

As the new graphics card I've been thinking Geforce 6600 GT and the processor will pretty surely be Athlon as well. Should I change anything else?

Now I'd like to hear your comments about this, how should I upgrade my system in the limits of my budget? Thanks alot in advance! :buttrock:

varzock
07-27-2005, 01:11 PM
Anyone, any idea or tip? :shrug:

SimonPickard
07-28-2005, 04:50 AM
Well I guess you need to find out what the max specs of your motherboard is, and then upgrade to that.

I'm guessing you should be able to get a 2700xp in there or maybe higher, geforce6 GT, if it'll fit in by cool enough in your case, etc.

I take it you want to keep your shuttle, or whatever case?

Basiclly though just find out what the max your system can handel and then max it out.

Regards,
Si.

varzock
07-28-2005, 06:48 AM
Well I guess you need to find out what the max specs of your motherboard is, and then upgrade to that.

I'm guessing you should be able to get a 2700xp in there or maybe higher, geforce6 GT, if it'll fit in by cool enough in your case, etc.

I take it you want to keep your shuttle, or whatever case?

Basiclly though just find out what the max your system can handel and then max it out.

Regards,
Si.