PDA

View Full Version : About Buying PowerBook

alieniu
07-26-2005, 07:32 PM
Hi all,

I'm new in here and new in using mac,I want to buy a powerbook to learn mac os and work on Maya. But I'm not sure whether i should wait for a intel-based powerbook(it...should be,i think) or just buy a G4 pb. I'll just do very little render work on it.So which should i look for.

Besides how many ram should i use(I'm just learning Maya)

Any one can talk about it?Thx!!!

Sieb
07-27-2005, 11:50 AM
You can find good deals on used PBs on ebay. I got mine there because I didn't want to pay Apple's sticker price. I would buy a PB now and not worry about the x86 conversion. Its a null point really since they won't be coming out for a couple years still, the laptops will mostly likely be Pentium M's (which performed so so with maya when I still had my centrino laptop), and for the first couple years after the switch, all software for OSX will run on both PowerPC/x86 platforms. Get it now, get used to OSX and Maya. By the time the x86 machines roll out, you will probably be ready for something more powerful. :D

JellyFire
07-27-2005, 02:47 PM
I agree with Sieb,
I use my pBook 12" when I'm out and about, mainly for small bits of modeling or animation and it handles great. But when it comes to rendering/texturing etc, I feel better on my G5.
So start small, I suggest a 15" pBook as the 17" is a bit hard to handle and the 12" I feel is an accessory to something better ;)

Then you can make a valid decission when the time comes to bow our heads and be processed into x86 PC half breeds :P
Can't wait. The Opportunities are endless.

Niietzshe

alieniu
07-27-2005, 07:40 PM
Thanks for input!!

I'm recently using my old pc with only 512mb ram and a gf4 mx card. I want to add more ram and buy a gfx card and just looking for another 1.5g ram and a second hand ex-gen wildcat.

Is it good for me??(low budget and gaming is not so important for me)

JellyFire
08-07-2005, 12:40 PM