PDA

View Full Version : is zbrush fair?

DoctorMonkeyFist
07-26-2005, 01:02 AM
I'm an aspiring 3d modeler and I don't yet know zbrush but I hope to soon...But I was wondering if it would be cool to put zbush models on a demo reel...It seems like you could do some really impressive models but if you showed your topology it would be a way low poly mesh....and wouldn't really be indicative of the way you model.I apologize if there's already a thread on this.

Headless
07-26-2005, 01:46 AM
If you're making your zbrush result into a normal map then if you're rendering the normal map applied to the low poly model, showing the wire of the low poly model, and noting your normal map dimensions, then that's more than fair.

If you're creating something in zbrush and rendering out the high poly object in zbrush, then showing your low poly wire and saying that it's the same object, then that's not fair, it's lying.

Just to be clear, as you may be misunderstanding: when you sculpt a model in zbush you are still dealing with geometry, so all those little bumps that you're adding are still made of of lot and lots of polygons. As such, if you were to render out the actual wireframe from a highly detailed zbrush model, it wouldn't be low poly at all but very very high poly. You may be getting confused here because zbrush is used so often for generating normal and displacement maps, which are applied to low polygon versions of objects. It's in those examples where you'll see seemingly high poly objects with low poly wire renders, yet the actual zbrush model from which the displacement or normal maps were derived, will still be high poly.

Psylife
07-27-2005, 12:08 AM