PDA

View Full Version : SLI: quadro with 6800 ultra


techfreak
07-25-2005, 04:59 AM
I was thinking of redoing my systems SLI card by replacing one of my 6800 ultras with a quadro 3400. Has anyone tried this yet. I would have the best of both worlds for gaming and 3D. I could switch to the quadro card when working and then switch to the 6800 when I want to game. Seems like a pretty goood idea to me. Im also thinking of replacing my 6800 with a 7800, which is better than two 6800 U in SLI.
Anyways if anyone has done this Id like to here your opinion.

Thanks

Akhen
07-25-2005, 06:50 AM
Actually that sounds like a great idea if you have first off all,
the money for it. Then also know how to manage such a task.

I just got the 7800gtx myself and I am very pleased as to how
it performs, especially at high resolutions where it doesn't break
a sweat, which is basicly what it was designed to do.


PS I'll take those 2 6800s if you dont want them ;D

techfreak
07-27-2005, 05:12 AM
thanks Akhen, is there anyone that has tried this yet? Anyone?

lots
07-27-2005, 05:30 AM
By doing this, you wont be able to use SLI. However, it doesnt stop you from having the Quadro to drive your usual 3D apps, and the Geforce for driving your games.

techfreak
07-28-2005, 03:11 AM
Yeah thats my idea behind it. With a 7800 (by the way is mor powerful than two 6800 U in SLI) I could have the best of both worlds. 3D and gaming, plus four monitors.

CGTalk Moderation
07-28-2005, 03:11 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.