PDA

View Full Version : HTML Help


eraser851
07-24-2005, 11:25 PM
Im not sure if this is the right forum to post this, so move it if need be..


I'm currently making a webpage that consists of an IFrame. BUT, I cant figure out how to make links so that they will change the IFrame and not the whole page.

Is there anybody who knows how to do that?


Thanks

EDIT - The button that I want to put the link in is a Flash button in the Navigation Bar.

JDex
07-24-2005, 11:29 PM
Please reconsider the use of proprietary IE functions... you severely limit your audience if you use code that only one browser can read.

NOTE: If this is for an Intranet or closed network, then disregard.

eraser851
07-24-2005, 11:40 PM
It seems to be working in both IE and Firefox.

JDex
07-24-2005, 11:42 PM
Hmm... I didn't ever see it on the new features listing... but I guess I could have missed it. As I understand (or understood) it iFrames are a IE only feature... but if FF is reading it, then you're pretty safe.

eraser851
07-24-2005, 11:44 PM
Would I have to worry about Netscape or any other browsers?

JDex
07-24-2005, 11:45 PM
Well... I've been out of the game (so to speak) for a while... but I guess you'd be best to install them and check, before committing to the tech.

eraser851
07-24-2005, 11:49 PM
I wonder if I posted a link to it here and had people with browsers other than FF and IE to try it out. I dont really feel like installing a new browser...

SweetDreamz
07-24-2005, 11:59 PM
IIRC, just make sure the target is the Iframe and you're set.


<a href="http://www.cgtalk.com (http://www.cgtalk.com/)" target="frame name">


Haven't done HTML coding in awhile, so I might forget some thing also.

eraser851
07-25-2005, 12:10 AM
It didnt work..


this is the code I have for the IFrame:
<iframe NAME="Main" src="text.html" width="635" height="363" scrolling="Auto" frameborder="0" marginwidth="15" marginheight="10"></iframe>"

And this is what I enter in Flash for the Button Properties...
http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/6266/flash9yk.jpg[/URL]


It doesnt seem to work.

xsenos
07-25-2005, 01:00 AM
Tried it for case-sensitive? I'm not familiar with Flash, however, you may try adding this in the page header:
<base target="Main">This will set your iframe as the default target for all links in the page and leave you to write only the url address in your navigation bar buttons.

Still, iframes sure are deader than disco!
*had been waiting a long time for an appropriate place to use that expression* :D

lokki
07-26-2005, 04:53 AM
fwiw consider looking into doing the same effect with CSS. That will allow you to change the content of the layer (the scrolling window), and is pretty well supported in most current browsers.

Here's a good resource to search:
http://www.webmasterworld.com/home.htm

Also try single quotes instead of doubles for the internal link and target calls.

Vertizor
07-26-2005, 03:02 PM
I haven't used Flash in a long time, but I have just a suspicion that you're not suppose to put the whole "<a href=" stuff into it. getURL() is a function that redirects to a given URL. "<a href=" is HTML code, I don't think it has any place in ActionScript. Try it with just the URL. And under "URL:" where you see "Window:" I'm guessing that's where you'd put the iFrame name.

CGTalk Moderation
07-26-2005, 03:02 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.