PDA

View Full Version : Windows x64 computer


Myliobatidae
07-24-2005, 07:04 AM
Hello All,
I'm going to make the leap... if anyone has any doubts, I'de like to hear them, its exhasting
trying to figure out what is going to work with what, but here is the plan, I'm getting the lowest speed proccesor 3000 venice, and am going to upgrade to the 4800 x2 as soon as its affordable, probably a year or so, I'll also upgrade the video card to something better, and add two more gigs of ram, as far as I can tell I've set myself up pretty good as far as upgradabilty, I'll be using all the drives from my old computer,
my other concern is the power supply, can I just use the ATX PS i already have or do I need a special one, something about 20 pin or 24 pin ???

By the way its going to cost $500.00 for this upgrade (not bad really)

Here is my configuration :


MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3000BPBOX - Retail

ASUS EN6200TC128/TD/16M Geforce 6200TC 128MB DDR PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

CORSAIR ValueSelect 2GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model VS1GB400C3 - Retail

Myliobatidae
07-28-2005, 04:26 AM
Well since 79 people read my post and noone had any concerns about the configuration, I guess I'll go ahead and do it, no news is good news...

lots
07-28-2005, 04:54 AM
Well you dont need a 24 pin atx connector. However I do believe the motherboard comes with one. You should be able to plug a 20 pin in just fine though.

Nothing else realyl sticks out.. except maybe the video card.. You are getting a new one, right? One day? :)

Myliobatidae
07-29-2005, 12:50 AM
Well I've decided to go ahead and buy a new power supply anyway, a 550 watt, to replace my 350 watt, I think I'm gonna need more power when I eventually get the 4800 x2, as for the video card, I really wasn't prepared to have to buy a new one, having 3 AGP cards already, but of course I need a pci xpress card now, so I'm just getting the cheapest one right now...

SweetDreamz
07-29-2005, 12:56 AM
You might as well pay an extra $25 for a 6600.

Myliobatidae
07-29-2005, 06:12 PM
You might as well pay an extra $25 for a 6600.

Maybe I missed something, I can't find that card for under $102.00 which is twice as much as the card I'm buying ($50.00) I'm not crazy about wasting $50.00 on a temporary video card, I'm gonna be even less happy to spend 2X as much, thanx for the input though...

I don't think I'm going to be to disappointed considering I'm using a quadro2 pro right now, which is so old !!! But it does do the job, and I don't play games, so thats not even a factor.

iambic
07-30-2005, 10:54 AM
CORSAIR ValueSelect 2GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model VS1GB400C3 - Retail

I just bought 2GB of Corsair ValueSelect DDR2, it was really cheap, 320 Aussie bucks, but it has fairly high latencies at 4:4:4:12...meaning you get what you pay for...although I'm not sure if plain old DDR has those sort of latencies.

CGTalk Moderation
07-30-2005, 10:54 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.