PDA

View Full Version : Brazil caustics, 3dsmax self-illumination output.

Ian Jones
10-28-2002, 07:11 AM
Hi there.

I'm just new to 3dsmax and Brazil, I'm trying to achieve more control out of the colour of my caustics / radiosity when I'm using a max material with self-illumination and diffuse set to an 'output' map with rgb level and output amount set to 2. I can adjust the colour in the diffuse slot and achieve some washed out colour caustics and radiosity... but what I want is more control over the colour of the object emmiting, and the saturation and intensity of its colour.

What methods do you guys use?

Ian Jones
10-28-2002, 07:19 AM
heh.. disregard the caustics bit... I don't understand my terminology yet. Anyone have a good reference for cg terminology? Besides the tutorial I did was wrong, I didn't need caustics turned on to get an object to cast light.

Its just GI that is lighting the scene....I think... :)

It does however make a difference with refracted and reflected rays, which as I understand it is what caustics is all about. Light being bent, usually by a curved surface, and concentrated onto a receiving object. Is that right?

Any info would be much appreciated.

visualboo
10-28-2002, 07:50 AM
If you want the object to actually become a light source, just crank up the self-illum. I think your talking about the light that's being bounced off an object onto say a floor though. correct?

And I'm still a little confused about your question. ---->

"but what I want is more control over the colour of the object emmiting"

textures? Press the M key and tweak away. If that was way off let me know.

Ian Jones
10-28-2002, 08:00 AM
sorry... :)

I have it working, but you'll see what I mean when you view the attached pic. Ignore the filename, I'm more interested in controlling the radiosity and GI than the caustics.