PDA

View Full Version : Slow a PC down ???


samartin
07-22-2005, 07:58 PM
Hi all,

There was a recent thread about a overheating laptop, it was suggested that a hoover of the machine internals would help to clear dust etc... Well I did that and it wasn't that bad but when I render my machine is switching itself off still hmppphhhh.

Is there a piece of software out there that will let me only use say 50% of the CPU to try and stop it from overheating?

cheers

Jonj1611
07-22-2005, 08:45 PM
What processor?

Jon

samartin
07-22-2005, 08:48 PM
It's a 3.06gHz CPU, Acer 1705SMi, so it's about 1-1 1/2 years old now. I have a program called CPUKiller but that just uses resources so it can be used to play old games if running too fast. This option of course is no good, basically I want to run the CPU at around the 2.0gHz mark so I can render all night long if need be.

Jonj1611
07-22-2005, 08:57 PM
Hi,

Ah right, not too sure, maybe this could help you a bit :-

http://www.diefer.de/speedswitchxp/

Jon

samartin
07-22-2005, 09:22 PM
Thanks for that,

Dunno if it's working, I rendered while using that software for longer than I normally could and it works so far. Will do further tests and report back soon ;)

Cheers Jon

Jonj1611
07-22-2005, 09:23 PM
Cool, hope it works for you.

Jon

samartin
07-22-2005, 09:58 PM
Well I left a render going for almost 20 mins on 1 frame using F-Prime and it woulda died a death after about 3-4 mins so I guess it is successful. Woohoooooo...

thanks

Jonj1611
07-22-2005, 10:05 PM
Cool!

Hopefully you can render through the night!

All The Best
Jon

catamount
07-23-2005, 12:00 AM
you need to reseat the entire cooling system for the laptop give it a good clean out and then do it again in a few months :) got a 3.2G laptop myself. :sigh:

jcbray
07-23-2005, 12:15 PM
Is underclocking your cpu out of the Q?

iambic
07-24-2005, 12:56 PM
Wow you laptop guys are doing it tough,....having to slow down your cpu for rendering?....ouch!...A friend has an HP laptop and every time the cpu gets loaded this fan comes whirring into life....makes a dreadful racket...guess this is what you get when you stick a desktop cpu in a small box.

TETRAGRAMMATON
07-24-2005, 04:43 PM
Clockgen is perfect to downgrade cpu frequence and of course it runs also with your P4.

samartin
08-05-2005, 05:26 PM
I think I eventually sorted out the problem, I was using HT and now I'm running without speedswitch and no HT and all seems to be going well.

Thought I'd update as some people might find this post useful...

deathman20
08-05-2005, 06:45 PM
Sounds like the processor's heatsink isn't put on there properly or got knocked around. You should run with HT and all with no issues at all.

A suggestion from others is to get a little thin fan system or try mounting your laptop above the desk a little and using fans under it to help cool the CPU more.

CGTalk Moderation
08-05-2005, 06:45 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.