PDA

View Full Version : Vue logic?

royboy
07-21-2005, 04:25 PM
Wonder what the idea behind an bitmap image not mapping 1:1 to a "world" unit. After a lot of trial and error I evently get it quite close. Found somewhere that the image maps 1:45 world units & to confuse things further you have to swap x & y. So an image exactly 1024 x 1024 needs to be scaled to 22.7555555 to fit perfectly on a 1024 x 1024 terrain... why oh why? Can anyone explain this logic?

mdunakin
07-21-2005, 10:24 PM
This DOES sound disturbing?

Of course, I'd be a lot more happy, if they just had more "normal" measurements in Vue,
as it's like a guessing game trying to figure out what size things really are in a scene?
I haven't found any real way to judge this yet, so I don't know what a person is to do?

But, I'm sure I'll eventually figure out some sort of method for telling
what scale something really is, some age that is?
Right now I'm still learning the basics, so I can't say much on the subjkect yet,
other then, if there IS a standard, "real world" measuring system in Vue, then I haven't
found it yet, or how to use it if I've already came across it, but just didn't realize it?

I think the best I've read about this so far, was that someone said,
make an object that you KNOW what the scale of it is,and THEN
load that into a scene and "manually" adjust the terrain to match the
size of the obejct you brought in, which seems a bit odd to say the least?

.....................md :)

kivanc_k
07-22-2005, 12:48 AM
Hmm... Yes, I`ve experienced scale matching problems in Vue also. A lot...

But, let`s examine this a bit more conceptual...

1. World... How big is your world ? Did you try this scale projection of factor 22.7555555 on different scenes, scenes with different biggest objects in dimensions ? What scales a "world" ? Does world correspond to "Earth" or "Current Scene" ? What is the biggest object in your scene file ?