grafixzzz
07-20-2005, 03:24 AM
hey all,

I'm new to digital painting and I was just curious
as to how you guys practice?

I was told to just grab a photo of a something
and try to recreate it in photoshop.

So I decided I'd redo a photo of my friend,
is this an effective way? or a waste of time?

Thanks

Lunatique
07-20-2005, 10:47 AM
You can try to paint from photo reference, or copy paintings you love, or paint from life--actually look at your environment and try to paint it. Since you are tied to a computer, it'll have to be what you can see sitting in front of your computer (unless you are using a laptop). Maybe the scene outside the window, or maybe the inside of your room. You can even get someone to sit in front of you and try to paint a life portrait/figure study.

All of these things will help train you as an artist. But other than hands-on painting, you should also study theories like color theory, anatomy, composition..etc. They will help you understand why the world looks the way it does, and how to depict moods, emotions..etc.

Calintz
07-30-2005, 08:19 AM
I would recommend copying other artworks because its already drawn and you know what it should look like on the computer and is therefore easier to compare your work to the original. whilst a real life photo is so much harder to practice from, its like jumping straight into the deep end of a pool b4 u've learnt to swim. Start easy, find simple images to copy from.

jmBoekestein
07-30-2005, 01:52 PM
Join the daily sketch group :D

It'll losen your grip on things and let you develop your subject matter and stuff. Actually, it's just fun mostly. :)

danielh68
07-30-2005, 05:03 PM
All of these things will help train you as an artist. But other than hands-on painting, you should also study theories like color theory, anatomy, composition..etc. They will help you understand why the world looks the way it does, and how to depict moods, emotions..etc.