PDA

View Full Version : flex motion and IK questions

ernpchan
07-20-2005, 02:29 AM
I'm new to Messiah and I'm trying to put a rig together. I have flexmotion on a chain of bones and when I switch from setup to animate it looks like my model gets shrunk in Z a little. When I disable the flexmotion effect my model keeps it's shape. What's causing this?

Is there a way to have the bone chain fade between FK and flexmotion influence?

Is there a way to get the geometry to stay stuck to the bones? Right now the geometry runs through the curve when you pull the control points far off. I'd like to have the end of my arm stay connected to the end of my curve. Think of an arm like Doctor Octopus. I'd like to keep the claw end stuck in a place in world space as the body moves around.

Is there an equivalent as match goal orientation for Messiah? I come from a LW background. Using messiah's ik is great but what's the equivalent for match goal orientation. I have Joe Cosman's videos and they're great but I don't like how with his ankle setup you can pull the ankle off of the foot. Is there a good alternative for this?

Thanks for any help anyone can offer. I'm really looking forward to using messiah more for animation.

Ernest

ernpchan
07-22-2005, 02:29 AM
Does anyone have any hints about the flexmotion questions? I'm trying to use flexmotion and it either makes my object shorter or longer depending on what I change the Match Tool setting to.

Thanks.

Ernest

ThomasHelzle
07-22-2005, 12:07 PM
When you activate the Flexmotion effect, the bones are aligned along the curve, if your curve-points aren't aligned perfectly in setup they will move a bit. I would call that normal.
What would you expect to happen? If there is more to it, please provide some images or even the scene file to make it possible to understand the problem.