PDA

View Full Version : Should I buy RAM or A Graphic Card ? (MAYA Related)

RealityCheck
07-19-2005, 10:50 AM
Hi all,
i started to work hard on MAYA Learning Edition, my specs are :
2.4 GhZ
512 RAM
P4P800SE
GEForce 9200

I can create new scenes, work on them for hours and use my camera to fly around the objects with no problems. (The objects are little things from the tutorials, and i also have mozilla firefox open to read the tutorials while working in MAYA)
BUT, when i open a scene i've done like 2 days ago or 2 hours ago, the scene opens fine, and then at my first camera move aroud the object, my computer freezes, or my screen goes dark and don't recognize any audio input..?
I then have to restart (reboot?) the CPU to start again.

As i'm new to MAYA, i tried to see where it could come from, but i couldn't find any valuable info about the software aspect. So i thought maybe my specs were too low.

What do you think about it, and do you think it's a RAM or VideoCard problem ?
(By the way i don't think my 2X512 RAM are of the same manufacturer... Maybe it can cause problems ?..)

Thanks mucho in advance for your responses !

bloodw
07-19-2005, 10:54 AM
hey, I think you should get more ram. As for the 2 other sticks of ram not being the same manufacturer, it should not be a problem.

cpan
07-19-2005, 11:16 AM
GEForce 9200

maybe Ati 9200 right?

this is your problem... not the RAM. This card has an very, very poor opengl. As for the RAM... wel i have 512 and i had no crashes yet in 1 year... i also worked in maya on 256 ram lol and it worked pretty good but i had pretty much crashes.

get an nvidia card... don't even think about ATI when working with opengl ( maya ). So get an GF6600 or 6800 and you'll see the difference

xsenos
07-19-2005, 01:22 PM
get an nvidia card... don't even think about ATI when working with opengl ( maya ). So get an GF6600 or 6800 and you'll see the difference
May I just quote the Maya VGA qualification list: