PDA

View Full Version : Really Large output (3m x 5m)


youandwhosarmy
07-19-2005, 08:56 AM
Hi,

I'm working on producing a landscape backdrop for an exhibition that will be quite big (3m x 5m) and I was wondering if there were any other users who have produced, or attempted to produce such large images, and if there were any tips they would wish to share.

thanks

Ryan.

Mike.H
07-19-2005, 02:43 PM
well nothing much to say except that render times will be realy biiig, the one tip i do have is to render it in segments, ie divide up the final scene/render in several smaller renders, that way if a detail is crappy you can also go back in and re render that segment other then that good luck and please show us what you guys ended up doing.

youandwhosarmy
07-21-2005, 07:59 AM
Thanks for the tip.

It looks like I'm going to have have to make 3 seperate images and at least 3 seperate renders anyway, as the backdrop is made up of 3 different environments, 2 of which will run into millions/billions of polygons (the African savannah scene in the one is already 2.5 billion in tests, maybe I'm just getting a little carried away with EcoSystems though! :) )

I have done a large render in Vue d'Esprit 4 before, final printed output was 8m x 1m, but that was without GI or Radiosity!, and renders times (at 75% of final output size) were around 9 hours at Final.

Mike.H
07-21-2005, 11:30 AM
sounds like quite a nice project you got going there, looking forward to seeing something from it :)

kivanc_k
07-22-2005, 01:01 AM
If you need, I can lend you 8 Pentium IV 3.06 with 1 gigs ram, 4 Centrino 1.8 (they render faster) with 512 M ram in 2Mbit/512Kbit ADSL connectivity, UPS and power generator backuped LAN for the weekend, starting from Friday 22/07/05 19:00 (GMT+2) till Monday 25/07/05 08:00 (GMT+2) via HyperVue.

BUT, beware, I neither trust Vue renderer (yes, it crashes a lot, HyperVue is a shame etc.) nor Turkish Telecom ADSL. But, trying is free :) If it works, it works. You can contact me via voica call or SMS from +90-532-7812324, my personal mobile.

youandwhosarmy
07-22-2005, 11:50 AM
Thats very kind of you, much appreciated. I can put together a small farm here of 3 or 4 machines, and rendering over the weekend should do the trick.

Anyway, South Africa's telecoms situation is pretty rubbish too.

CGTalk Moderation
07-22-2005, 11:50 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.