PDA

View Full Version : New computer parts


Aros
07-18-2005, 07:40 PM
Ellos! I've been looking to buy a few new parts to speed up my system; Motherboard, CPU and RAM. Although because of my complete lack of knowledge about this stuff I definitely need some help what suits what best.
Currently I have this in my wishing list;

Motherboard: Asus K8VSE Deluxe,S754,K8T800,3xDDR,GLAN,SATA,1394
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+, 2.4Ghz, 1Mb cache, S-754, Box
RAM: Kingston Dimm 1024Mb DDR SDram PC3200 400Mhz

Do these suit each other best? Or are there any better parts without a big difference in price?
Thank you :)

lots
07-18-2005, 08:32 PM
Forget about socket 754. Go for 939...

Aros
07-18-2005, 08:42 PM
Thank you for your response; What is the advantage of this towards the currently listed processor, both in present and future position? It's just a number to me right now :)

lots
07-18-2005, 08:47 PM
For starters socket 754 is at the end of its life. All new CPUs for the Athlon64 are socket 939. All the dual core options available in the Athlon64 series are socket 939. All the modern motherboards are socket 939. You limit your self greatly by not going with it. You basically wont have any future upgrade paths.

Also, with socket 939 you are able to utilize the fastest of the Athlon64 family, along with dual channel ram, and the whole set of features available on Nforce4.

MadMax
07-18-2005, 10:35 PM
You also want to forget buying anything with that VIA crap as a chipset. Look for boards with the nForce4 chispet. They are a far superior product and the standard for AMD processors.

Aros
07-19-2005, 05:07 PM
Thanks for the help ya'll, if in fact the 754 CPU is at the end of it's life I'm definitely going with a 939 CPU! Although, these are quite a bit higher in price but it does mean I can go without upgrading for another few years right? ^^ Here is my current wishing list, is this set up alright?;

Motherboard: Asus A8N-SLI Premium,S939,nForce4,Heatpipe, PCI-E
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3800+, 2.4Ghz, 512Kb cache,S-939,Box
RAM: Kingston DChannel 1Gb Kit, 2x512Mb DDR2 PC2-4200

MadMax
07-19-2005, 06:06 PM
Motherboard: Asus A8N-SLI Premium,S939,nForce4,Heatpipe, PCI-E
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3800+, 2.4Ghz, 512Kb cache,S-939,Box
RAM: Kingston DChannel 1Gb Kit, 2x512Mb DDR2 PC2-4200


A couple of things I would consider here........

First is dropping the 3800+ in favoe of a much less expensive 3500+ and just overclock it 200mhz. Also, make sure that what you get says stepping E, revision E or venice in the description (it's all the same thing) this would be the latest core revision with upgraded memory controller.

Depending on when you intend to buy, you might consider a Dual Core X2 processor. Yes, they are pretty expensive right now, but they are releasing a 345.00 X2 in August. And that's a couple of bucks cheaper than the 3800 you were looking at and will be a whole lot nicer a processor for the money.

Aros
07-19-2005, 06:13 PM
A couple of things I would consider here........

First is dropping the 3800+ in favoe of a much less expensive 3500+ and just overclock it 200mhz. Also, make sure that what you get says stepping E, revision E or venice in the description (it's all the same thing) this would be the latest core revision with upgraded memory controller.

Depending on when you intend to buy, you might consider a Dual Core X2 processor. Yes, they are pretty expensive right now, but they are releasing a 345.00 X2 in August. And that's a couple of bucks cheaper than the 3800 you were looking at and will be a whole lot nicer a processor for the money.

Thank you for your response, August isn't far away from now so I might just consider this X2 processor. Is this an AMD processor aswell? God, I'm so ignorant about computer technology these days! :) I'll have to get a different type of motherboard and RAM aswell, don't I?

MadMax
07-19-2005, 06:26 PM
Thank you for your response, August isn't far away from now so I might just consider this X2 processor. Is this an AMD processor aswell? God, I'm so ignorant about computer technology these days! :) I'll have to get a different type of motherboard and RAM aswell, don't I?

Yes, this is an AMD processor. It is their socket 939 dual core.

No, that Asus A8N SLI is just fine for X2's.

FYI, I didn't notice it before but you list DDR2 ram, AMD doesn't use DDR2. Just DDR.

Aros
07-19-2005, 06:33 PM
Yes, this is an AMD processor. It is their socket 939 dual core.

No, that Asus A8N SLI is just fine for X2's.

FYI, I didn't notice it before but you list DDR2 ram, AMD doesn't use DDR2. Just DDR.

Great! DDR it is then. Thank you so much for your help, I'm going to wait for the X2 CPU :)

jcbray
07-20-2005, 01:40 AM
One more thing, I noticed your specs listed a motherboard that supported PCI-e - this is a newer technology, and depending on how old your current setup is, you may not be able to use this - you would need a new graphics card too...

To simplify things, pci-e is a type of plug, but older graphics cards use a plug called AGP. You should find out what yours is currently to avoid some unpleasant first days experience :)

CGTalk Moderation
07-20-2005, 01:40 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.