PDA

View Full Version : Help shadows and alpha channel in GI


LaMereHic
07-18-2005, 10:42 AM
i have character moving on a scene, the render is done in Global illumination
i have the shadows of the character on the floor, and i want to composite it without the floor , but only with the shadows.
i did put the alpha channel property of the floor to shadow density in the surface editor
but i got nothing in the alpha channel in the render, (maybe the shadow is too diffuse)
if anyone has a clue on how to get the shadows of a render in GI....

gerardo
07-19-2005, 06:36 AM
I think what you have there is not a shadow, but a shade provided by the radiance effect of Radiosity. Try with ASA_Buffer Saver to extract the shading or perhaps Render_Buffer_Export (image filter) :)



Gerardo

brap
07-19-2005, 12:22 PM
The easy solution would be to just comp that radiosity shadow pass in multiply mode. Just increase the constrast a bit to make your background white instead of grey.

cheers,
Jamie

CGTalk Moderation
07-19-2005, 12:22 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.