PDA

View Full Version : BA_LightDome for lightwave


rozak831
07-18-2005, 07:06 AM
does anyone know if this will be available for lightwave? I have tried it in XSI and it is very helpful and the lighting is very good. The guy said on the website that "if anyone would like to write a simple script example of a prefered 3d software, he could implement this script language." Maybe someone out there can do it? Just thought I would ask for all of us Lightwavers.

MooseDog
07-19-2005, 05:51 AM
What is BA_LightDome:
LightDome is a standalone application that reads HDRI light probe images and creates a light rig from that image.


lightgen2lw is a plugin that has come with lw since v7.5. here's some bg and a mini tut:

http://63.172.126.113/forums/showthread.php?p=100003963#post100003963

good luck!

gerardo
07-19-2005, 08:01 AM
Ambicolor of Ekki Halkka can do the same thing too. TGTALH of Jim May (CourtJester) is even better for this task!



Gerardo

rozak831
07-20-2005, 02:34 AM
"TGTALH of Jim May (CourtJester) is even better for this task"

I have not heard of this can you please tell me more or give me website. Thanks

rozak831
07-20-2005, 02:36 AM
"TGTALH of Jim May (CourtJester) is even better for this task"


I have not heard of this can you please tell me more or give me website. Thanks

gerardo
07-20-2005, 06:25 AM
I use this technique (http://www.altyna.com/lw/specrefl.htm) all the time; is one of those brilliant ideas so complex of figuring out and that not anyone would share. The main advantages over the light domes are that it uses the spinning light trick, what is translated in a most softer diffuse effect and you use many less lights (what means quicker renders), besides, for some scenes, is easier to separate independent rigs for objects or objects groups to simulate GI with IBL without using "bounce lights". If you use intensity ambient to 0%, it works quite well with PDLs, however sometimes (depending on the image from where the lights extract its colors and intensities) is possible that you need to elaborate rigs a little more complex (of 2 or 3 columns). If you want, you can also separate rigs for specularity (to simulate very soft reflections) and another for shadows :)



Gerardo

P.D.: Btw, Tais has an astonishing LightDome (http://mapage.noos.fr/webto/lscriptInfo2.html) plugin in laboratory; hope he finishes it soon

CGTalk Moderation
07-20-2005, 06:25 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.