PDA

View Full Version : Feature Film: Les MisÚrables

mixermanic
07-17-2005, 10:35 PM
Hi everyone,

I am planning a CG film version of the musical Les MisÚrables (based on the Victor Hugo novel).

The project is currently in the development stage. I have finished the first draft of the screenplay and am now creating the production schedule.

The film will be very challenging, as the original show is a through-sung musical (no spoken lines, only sung) and everything will have to be lip-sync'd with song. The subject material also calls for vast rich 3d environments to be built (revolutionary Paris 1832, resplendant with barricades, and the sewers of the city, Toulon prison and the chain gang quarries etc.).

To add to all this(!), the score will be re-recorded using samplers and a few live musicians (this is my forte - I'm a professional musical director :) ) and new vocalists (ah the favours I'm owed that I shall soon be calling in.......!). We are also writing new underscores and reorchestrating parts of the score.

I already have several people involved in the music, but am now looking for people who interested in collaborating with the CG/FX side of the project.

This is a non-profit and non commercial production, and is unpaid. On the plus side, I think everyone involved will gain a shed load of experience and it will be great fun - and something quite stunning for the showreel! :)

I can be contacted at martin@designersounds.co.uk, or on this thread.

All best,

Martin Hughes

lostlittleboy
07-19-2005, 10:17 AM
WOW! You're not after a lot then?! :D