PDA

View Full Version : What is the standard size?

Leonardo Vega
07-17-2005, 03:43 PM
What's a good size (pixel @ dpi) to work in? I really want to make a peice for the expose book. They ask for atleast 3700 x 2700 @ 300 dpi. Should I go bigger or stay around their?

I'm very new to the digital painting world, so all this talk about size and dpi aren't too familiar to me. I know dpi stands for dots per inch, the higher the better.

But I just wanted to know what standard size the veterans use.

Thanks,
- Leo

mzee
07-17-2005, 03:56 PM
What's a good size (pixel @ dpi) to work in? I really want to make a peice for the expose book. They ask for atleast 3700 x 2700 @ 300 dpi. Should I go bigger or stay around their?

I'm very new to the digital painting world, so all this talk about size and dpi aren't too familiar to me. I know dpi stands for dots per inch, the higher the better.

But I just wanted to know what standard size the veterans use.

Thanks,
- Leo

A4 = 2480x3508
A3 = 3508x4961

Hope this will help you.

Lc
07-17-2005, 03:59 PM
There's not universal size. All depends on the work you wish to carry out, but also its finality. I mean if your pict will be on internet, or will be print on a book, T-Shirt.... After you know that, you can work on a high resolution image to add more details, etc and resized it at the end. then you'll have a better render.

The resolution given for the expose book is a minimum I think, for the quality of print.

cya ~~ le coYote

Leonardo Vega
07-17-2005, 04:04 PM
It's just that sometimes you just create to create, like I did with my pirate. But then when I went to submit my work for the expose I noticed my work was too small (1200x800)... so I felt kinda bad. So I'd like to make work that I can use for future purposes.

But I guess I should just go as big as possible... 35,000x27,000 lol ;)

- Leo

Lc
07-17-2005, 04:22 PM