PDA

View Full Version : Influence object not visible in component editor

Blackmombassa
07-14-2005, 03:40 AM
This is my first time to use an influence object parented to a joint and like many things in Maya, it's looked simple at first...

I've gone through the steps: start in bind pose, create poly snapped to skin surface, centre pivot on poly, delete history on poly, parent to joint, freeze transform on poly, select skin and shift poly, goto add infl.ob, lock weights on, use components on, disabled weight normalization.

Selected vertices on the skin to be influenced, went to the component editor's tab for smoothSkins and ..... nothing! Nothing after several attempts at the same thing. All I can see are the original joints in the skeleton and the vertices which I've selected. I had the impression that I should also be able to now see the influence object here so that I can transfer the weights to it.

Does some marvel out there know what's happening?

john_homer
07-14-2005, 07:17 AM
did you close and reopen the component editor after adding the influence?
you gotta remember just how crap the component editor is...

you can force it to update with mel..
compEdMenuCmd CEMIAutoUpdate componentEditorPanel1WindowComponEditor;

.j

Blackmombassa
07-14-2005, 11:25 PM
Yes, I've tried opening the component editor several times and there was no change; it still lists the joints only under the Smooth Skins tab.

I entered the script into the Command Line with no changes, but thanks for that - it may still come in handy.

It's probably something that I've missed, but I'm happy to bang away at the component editor if there are other fixes which I can try.

Blackmombassa
07-15-2005, 02:11 AM