PDA

View Full Version : Exploring my environment in realtime

beeglebug
07-13-2005, 07:25 PM
Hi guys, i'm currently working on an environment for my portfolio, and i've realised that it would be invaluable to be able to walk around inside it and see things from a first person perspective to help me get to grips with scale and layout.

Does anyone here have any experience with getting meshes out of Max and into some sort of engine or viewer? I've never tried it before, so I dont know how hard it is, or what the best software for the job is, so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Prs-Phil
07-13-2005, 07:36 PM
if you have max 7 there is a kinda "ego perspective" - walking mode. You can find it at the bottom right, looks like to shoemarks on the floor beside each other. Make a cool walkthrough and set everything up that it looks like it would be rendered in a game if that is what you are aiming for, if not go beserk with GI etc. etc. but I would go for a more gamelike feel, comes across more honest than abusing GI and all the fancy renderoptions.

If you really want it in an engine you will have to find one that suits you best. That is quite hard esspecially because the good ones cost alot and the cheap or free ones don't have alot of docu. I would make a wild suggestion and say go for the UT 04 engine (if you have ut)

on http://www.3dbuzz.com you can find a bunch of tuts that can help you out with that engine allthough that will take its time.

Good luck and posts some shots :)

simps
07-13-2005, 08:39 PM
Ya, Unreal is probably your best bet. It's pretty simple to get a hold of and get the hang of.
You can check out the 3D buzz tuts and there is also a book call Mastering Unreal Technology that can help you out.

beeglebug
07-14-2005, 04:39 PM