PDA

View Full Version : Which to purchase Lightwave or vue?

joewalker123
07-13-2005, 09:10 AM
Please help! I am very new to CGI and want to know what program to use. I have been
offered Lightwave 8 from someone i know for 299 which i suppose is pretty good, but have seen the program Vue which looks fantastic. I have already ruled out Maya because of the price tag. Which will be the better choice?

Mylenium
07-13-2005, 09:35 AM
Please help! I am very new to CGI and want to know what program to use. I have been
offered Lightwave 8 from someone i know for 299 which i suppose is pretty good, but have seen the program Vue which looks fantastic. I have already ruled out Maya because of the price tag. Which will be the better choice?

Why don't you get both for with the current special offer?

Mylenium

LightwaveGuy
07-13-2005, 01:22 PM
I think it really depends on what your goals are, I don't personally use Vue but it is primarily used for Landscapes, Cityscapes, etc where LW can and is used for all 3d aspects from landscapes to character animation and much much more...

JDoliner
07-13-2005, 04:03 PM
they're really not comprable. Lightwave is up there among the best applications it's practically a complete pipeline in and of it's self. Vue just isn't that at all. It's good for scenary and such, probably better than lightwave at that, but it's not really good for that much else. So yeah i'd go with lightwave.

digital verve
07-13-2005, 04:21 PM
Lightwave for sure. :)

Another alternative and cheaper for landscapes is this product:
http://www.geomantics.com/genesis4.htm

There is a free version to download too, if you register for the download page.

Terragan is very good (free for non-commercial use), but downside in current version is no vegetation. Terregan 2 will support veggy and looks very good from the previews on the site.

http://www.planetside.co.uk/terragen/

paulrus
07-13-2005, 04:31 PM