PDA

View Full Version : prospects in programming

twilightened
07-12-2005, 07:20 PM
Hi,

I have been a programmer on Mainframes. My question is how creative is programming in Maya using ( API , C++), as when compared with any other programming ( business, IT stuff).

BRgds,

Twilightened.

mummey
07-12-2005, 08:41 PM
the best response might be: "Eh"

The creativity is not so much in the programming itself. It is instead about what you plan to do with what you develop for Maya.

Lau83
07-13-2005, 01:09 AM
I think creativity in programming is the way you actually make a program. Creative ways to do certain tasks, functions, routines, etc. Or you could be creative in creating a better user experience for the end-user that uses your software (the ease with which a user in maya can use dynamics or simulation for example).

But creative as in artisticly... no not really. In the end it's still just about crunching numbers and lots of typing, like with any other kind of program.

DaKrunch
07-13-2005, 02:35 AM
a good definition of art is very hard define once for all...

i believe that programming for a database sometimes does need some creativity.

But creating a plugin that simulates in an original way some effect (some shader, some particle animation etc...) has as much art in it as someone painting a picture.

It all goes to... did you implement your own idea or someone else's? in the first case you are an artist and a td. In the second you are "only" a programmer.

as i said... i am aware that this is a very personal opinion on a personal topic :)

shadowMaster
07-16-2005, 12:23 AM