PDA

View Full Version : labtop as a rendering machine?

Varinder
07-12-2005, 06:40 AM
Hi, i'm working on a short film on my own and i was just wondering if i should get a labtop/notebook to have as a constant rendering machine, while i do all the actual, modeling/animating/compositing/editing, etc on the PC. I remember reading a few things on the internet, where a few people do actually do this. But i'd like to know if this is actually a good idea.

Thanks.

Andrew W
07-12-2005, 08:52 AM
I wouldn't use a laptop as a rendering machine as processor speeds on laptops are slower which means longer render times, you can't get as much memory for laptops and all components are more expensive. I have been using a small form factor, mini ITX PC for a couple of years now as my home workstation and it's been great, so if space is an issue for you then look at them (Shuttle et al.)

I am on the verge of decomissioning my PC as a workstation as I'm going to get a PowerBook to do all my actual work on (please don't turn this into a Mac vs PC argument) but I'm keeping the Shuttle PC as a render box. I'll probably run it through VNC to obviate the need for monitors, mice and keyboards for it.

I hope that's of some use.

Andrew

playmesumch00ns
07-12-2005, 08:58 AM
What's making you look at a powerbook in particular, Andrew? What software will you be using for your work?

I ask as I've been mulling over whether to get one of those (they're so sexy) or one of the better-designed intel laptops, probably running linux.

I'd use it mainly as an email/internet shopping machine at home, but I'd also like to do some of my own development projects on it too...

Varinder
07-12-2005, 09:52 AM
So your saying that getting a labtop/notebook would be a waste of money if i used it as a rendering machine?