PDA

View Full Version : Rendering like Matt Clark in LW?

theengram
02-19-2002, 04:36 PM
Hey guys,

First let me say I am new to 3D and Lightwave..so this may sound dumb...

I'm a big fan of Matt Clark's work. Not only his models but I like the way he presents them with his rendering. The way he rendered and presented his pirate in the competition was really cool. (Dumb part) -->It looks like he used global illumination...but I can't seem to achieve that look for some reason. I guess I could ask him...but I know that he uses Max or Brazil. This would be a great look for a project I'm working on at school.

Is this endless, never-ending, cold look achievable using Lightwave?

Any and all help will be appreciated.

Thanks so much!
the engram

tuna
02-19-2002, 06:45 PM
import a sphere into layout and invert the normals (done in modeler) make sure the sphere covers your mode area (or anywhere you want to illuminate) then in the surpface editor give it a 100% illuminous white. then turn on GI and taadaa a skylight

JacquesD
02-19-2002, 08:18 PM
If I remember well, It runs faster if you just put a plane for the ground, set the backdrop color to white or whatever bright color,
set radiosity to default settings and check the 'shading noise reduction' parameter.

I also use sometimes fog using the backdrop color so that I get a better blend between the ground and the backdrop color.
http://users.skynet.be/fa009830/Atena_Rad.jpg

Mike RB
02-19-2002, 08:35 PM
http://www3.telus.net/paratrooper/goblin.jpg
somthing like that?

Mike

ambassador
02-19-2002, 08:36 PM
Both of those ways take to long,

you can achieve the same effect as dome lighting using a slightly off white background, then use the free "DAYLIGHT" shader on your surfaces. No floor, no dome, faster render.

you can DL the free shader from flay. experiment with the perameters.

JacquesD
02-19-2002, 08:43 PM
Originally posted by ambassador
Both of those ways take to long,