PDA

View Full Version : Mini models

Swizzle
07-12-2005, 04:39 AM
Inspired by Adam Atomic's really cool low-poly modeling, I've decided to do something with low-poly models that I've been wanting to do for a long time. I'm going to make a city. I have a rough layout for the city, but I had no buildings to put in it. I'm now in the process of changing all that by making these mini buildings (and in the future some mini bridges and cars and stuff).

Here are the three that I've done. I had no concepts so I just started playing around. I'm fairly happy with the results.
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y29/xkostolny/Mini%20Buildings/fedbuilding.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y29/xkostolny/Mini%20Buildings/fourtowers.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y29/xkostolny/Mini%20Buildings/tower.jpg

I figure that these could be used in a SimCity type of game for something like the PSP. Since they're so low-poly you could fit a ton of them onscreen at once and they would probably look good at that fairly low resolution. I'm going to texture an industrial building that I have and then I'll probably start on something like the 2 or 3 bridges I'd have in my city.

If anybody else is interested in doing low-poly stuff like this, you can feel free to post in this thread if you so desire.

AKDesigns
07-12-2005, 05:01 AM
i love it.. i think it looks really cool... im subscribed to this thread.. would love to se that city..

keep up the good work....:thumbsup:

AdamAtomic
07-12-2005, 05:35 AM
yippee! More low poly models! I think the tower is the strongest of the 3, it definitely has the best texture.

Swizzle
07-12-2005, 07:17 AM
Okey dokey, just did a ~10 minute model. It may not look like much, but I'm going to try making the texture just as good as the tower. The tri count is 86, I'm not sure if I'm going to add anything else. I'll probably have the texture finished tomorrow.