PDA

View Full Version : I'm very week at modeling

HONG KONGer
07-11-2005, 06:27 AM
Hi, I'm a Maya beginner user.

I've self-learned many modeling tools (both Nurbs and poly) from many Maya books. But when I want to model something (a computer mouse for example), I just don't know how to build it.

See the problem? I know the tools but don't know how to use it.

Anyone facing the same problem?

HONG KONGer
07-11-2005, 06:29 AM
Oh it sould be weak, not week

tntcheats
07-11-2005, 07:10 AM
It's called requiring practice.
Just work at things, and you'll get better.
If you're struggling, look it up.

Everyone has to do it.
You can't read a guitar tab and suddenly be able to play the Metallica solo for Enter Sandman if you've never even touched a guitar in your life.

thom905
07-12-2005, 08:22 AM
Try taking pictures of the front, side, and top view and place that in Maya as a refferece.

Nicool
07-12-2005, 10:39 AM
Hi HONG KONGer !

Keep it up. I want you to have pleasure at modeling. Maybe you've no method. Let me propose you mine (not saying I am good or it is the best method)

1 - It is actually the most important part (and the one you should take the more attention). Place main lines and surface. Obviously you need reference and/or experience for modeling. Get inspired by well lighted photographs (with shadows to understand the shapes) and muscles/skull orientations. At this step, it easy to check proportions with a low number of vertices (and no connectivity). Keep your model really simple to work only on your model shape (dont get annoyed with your software functions and limitations) Dont go to the next step before this one is completed : good proportions, low number of really usefull surfaces only :banghead: Otherwise you will whad more polygons on a model that is wrong since the beginning (and it will be really hard to correct it then).