PDA

View Full Version : trees in vue

zimt
07-10-2005, 05:33 PM
hi there. i'm new in vue and im asking me if theres a way to create a landscape with lot of trees faster instead of creating every tree single and place it in the landscape.

Wabe
07-10-2005, 06:39 PM
Which Vue version?

In Infinite? Ultra easy because you simply create an Eco-System with the vegetation you want.

In all others? Not completely. But there you as well can use the replicate function that makes the amount of copies you want in the area you define.

The trick is to do that "up in the air" and then drop down all the copies with the drop to floor feature.

Oh, to make your mouth watery a little, in an Ecosystem the Vue plants are modified even (SolidGrowth technology) so that all plants look slightly different.

zimt
07-11-2005, 11:55 AM
thx!
while waiting for the answer i found the eco system in the material editor^^
but anyway it sux, or maybe i suck, cause when i try to chage the vegetation in the eco-material setup by using the add button, new plants and trees I've added arent rendered. And one more trouble is that i dont know how to give the same mesh different materials, in different areas. all beginnerstuff, i know. but when google'ing hadn't found a nice vue 5 inf - tutorial...

oh, and can anybody tell me good render settings for animation?

Wabe
07-11-2005, 12:07 PM
Have you pushed the "populate" button? Without that nothing happens of course. And best is always first clear, then populate.

Different objects in different areas? Different ways to do that.

#1 to mix several ecosystems and use the mix functions for that.

#2 use the variable density. Again, with a smart function you can almost get everything. Important here is to change the filter to another one that is more like a step and not linear.

Someone at Renderosity did a very good explanation of that some weeks ago. Maybe you do a search there, maybe it is even in the tutorial section there already.

zimt