PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate Dynamic Ragdoll Rig

littlepixel
07-09-2005, 03:32 AM
Hello Friends:

After some time in secret development (~4 months) I have devised a fully articulated dynamic rig for maya that supports collisions and is fully robust. I have seen some talk regarding these types of skeletons and I've seen simulations using rigid bodies. Sure the simulations with rigid bodies have their place, but this is something completely different.

It's about 15 megs.. quicktime with sorenson compression..

www.artsy.ca/dynTest.mov (http://www.artsy.ca/dynTest.mov)

Using a control skeleton we can drive a dynamic skeleton and have it react dynamically to all our motions. Please have a look at the quicktime movie. Any feedback is appreciated as well as comments. I'm not sure where to begin in explaining it, but I'd love to hear any questions or comments.

<shameless_plug> As well I must say I'm totally accepting job offers in the TORONTO area.. I have a bachelor's degree (Computer Science) from U of T and I've just completed a diploma in computer animation (Maya/Shake) from the Toronto Film school. I'm putting together a demo reel of my best stuff but basically I can rig just about anything and I'm quite well-versed in MEL script for UI's and simplifiying complex repeatable actions.. plus I love dynamics. </shameless_plug>

-Alex Kessaris

By the way.. here's a render of the actual character.. and a screencap
http://www.artsy.ca/dynSample.jpg (http://www.artsy.ca/dynTest.mov)
http://www.artsy.ca/bw_d.jpg

westiemad
07-09-2005, 11:52 AM
i liked it, impressive stuff.

littlepixel
07-09-2005, 02:09 PM