PDA

View Full Version : Objects Group Rotation (Layout)


Constantinos
07-06-2005, 02:33 PM
Hello ppl,

I am trying to find a plug in for Layout, to rotate cloned objects as a group (rather than multiselecting them and rotating them relative to their indepedent position)... Is anything like that exist as a Lscript or sth? I checked Flay.com but couldnt find something relative...
Can anyone help?

Thanks

kangonto
07-06-2005, 03:05 PM
Create a null object and make it the parent of all those objects. Then rotate the null object.

Null objects are quite useful for such kind of things.

Exper
07-06-2005, 03:45 PM
Untill we'll have proper Groups. Hoping soon! ;)

Constantinos
07-06-2005, 07:50 PM
Thanks Kangonto... The thing is that im placing hundreds and hundreds of cloned objects, and is going to take ages if i had to parent them on a null just for a rotation... ;)
Exper, i hope we'll have groups, it will be suuuch a life saver... :)

cyphyr
07-06-2005, 11:20 PM
If you plan you scene early you can make smaller "groupes" of objects, say of 10 at a time then clone them and parent 10 groupes of ten to a master null, should'nt take long that way. You may even be able to switch the null on and off.
cyphyr

Trench
07-06-2005, 11:42 PM
Might be off here, but are you talking about rotating all of the objects around a specified point (a master null for instance) or are you looking for the ability to multiselect and rotate each of objects at the same time...? for instance, making them all have a individual heading of 45 degrees which makes them all stare at the same goal but not moving from their world coordinates (x,y,z,)...

If the latter is the case, you could do it by applying a simple expression to all of them, making them follow a master null... e.g. masternull.rot(Time).h
This would make it happen, as would applying a follower to the original object before cloning it....

Again, I'm not sure what you meant, but I figured I'd give you this option... just in case...

Hope it help...

CB_3D
07-07-2005, 01:59 AM
There is a mass-parenting plugin for this. Search it at flay! Parenter, i think?

kangonto
07-07-2005, 08:01 AM
Thanks Kangonto... The thing is that im placing hundreds and hundreds of cloned objects, and is going to take ages if i had to parent them on a null just for a rotation... ;)
Exper, i hope we'll have groups, it will be suuuch a life saver... :)

Just use scene editor. Use a naming convention for those objects so you could use a filter to only display those in scene editor. Then change parent for all objects in less than 5 clicks ! :)

I've used this procedure in a scene with THOUSANDS of 2D Trees.

I do'nt see how a especialised plugin could be faster and easier than this method.

Scene Editor is a Godsend :).

I use 3D Studio Max at work and don't envy its grouping options. The only advantage of real grouping (for me until now) is that you have a 'cleaner' scene. Selecting groups in Lightwave is much easier (in big scenes) if you use scene editor instead of selecting from LW main window. Is like using 'select objects' in MAX (Shortcut: 'H'), which is the typical way for max users. Just press CTRL+F1 in LW. The advantage of using Scene Editor is its tree structure, so you only see the parent objects until you unfold it, what makes selecting 'groups' much easier.

Exper
07-07-2005, 08:43 AM
kangonto... you're right.
Scene Editor is a great tool but I fear we're hiding behind a finger.

Just let the users work as they better like: a real Group is not a massive-innovative tool these days. :shrug:

kangonto
07-07-2005, 09:05 AM
Hey, constantinos

By the way.

You can find the tool 'Lw_CreateGroup' under 'additional' rollout which makes group creation even easier.

You can also use 'Item Picker' in 'Master Plugins' to create a bunch of quickly selectable objects, 'groups', cameras, etc. The idea is to leave that window floating around on LW interface. You can minimize it over those gray unused areas.

Exper
07-07-2005, 09:43 AM
Yes, I know.
I don't want start a debate about real "Groups" so I want stop here (I have too many remebers of similar situations).

But I have to say: "Ten tricks could be replaced by a feature!"

kangonto
07-07-2005, 10:13 AM
Yes, I know.
I don't want start a debate about real "Groups" so I want stop here (I have too many remebers of similar situations).

But I have to say: "Ten tricks could be replaced by a feature!"

Who was debating !?!?!? :shrug: :)

Just giving solutions

Exper
07-07-2005, 10:17 AM
Opps... sorry. I was not refering to you.
I was just censoring myself! ;)

Constantinos
07-07-2005, 10:35 AM
Thanks everybody for your replies! :D

Well im usually cloning objects (for example, some pipes for a space station), and then placing them... Imagine that I have a set of 3 Pipes and i need to rotate that set for the opposite wall, or for a specific corner... That means by either doing that to an individual pipe, then cloning to create the same set I had, OR doing the null trick... The first option right now, works much faster, but a multiselection and grouping them, so i could manipulate them better, would have been a time saver!
Im a Scene Editor user myself and its good, but still some detail like groups, would make the production process easier...

Again Thanks for your help, guys! :)

kangonto
07-07-2005, 10:43 AM
Opps... sorry. I was not refering to you.
I was just censoring myself! ;)


oh, i'm sorry to make you feeling sorry. ;)

kangonto
07-07-2005, 10:48 AM
Thanks everybody for your replies! :D

Well im usually cloning objects (for example, some pipes for a space station), and then placing them... Imagine that I have a set of 3 Pipes and i need to rotate that set for the opposite wall, or for a specific corner... That means by either doing that to an individual pipe, then cloning to create the same set I had, OR doing the null trick... The first option right now, works much faster, but a multiselection and grouping them, so i could manipulate them better, would have been a time saver!
Im a Scene Editor user myself and its good, but still some detail like groups, would make the production process easier...

Again Thanks for your help, guys! :)

Some people would probably do it in modeler ... But is a question of tastes.

Constantinos
07-08-2005, 12:24 PM
Actually is a question of engine... ;)

Exper
07-08-2005, 03:25 PM
Actually is a question of engine... ;)They should call a mechanic! :p

Hey... I'm just joking. :blush:

CGTalk Moderation
07-08-2005, 03:25 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.