PDA

View Full Version : Industry Technique - Real Time Animation

Kid-Mesh
07-06-2005, 02:07 PM
I've been a hobby game programmer for several years and always wondered how Real Time Character Animation is being done today since it changes so much. So if anyone with experience could answer this question I would be grateful :)

------------------------+

Ok, here is what has been my approach to animating a 3D character and then calling it in inside a game.

Lets say my character has a total of five typical animations which are listed below.

1. Walk
2. Run
3. Jump
4. Death
5. Idle

Now I would do something like the following.

*Animate each of the five animations and save them into one file.
Note: That my experience with this is limited to DirectX and .x files

A Fictional example of my method with frame numbers being used for demonstration purposes.

Walk Cycle: Frame 1 - 150
Run Cycle: Frame 151 - 250
Jump Cycle: Frame 251 - 290
Idle:Frame 291 - 330

Once I have my character fully animated then I just save out the animation file which now has five different animation sets in it. From within my code I can know call the different animations that I want using tagged frames or calling them right from the cycle start points themselves.

So here is my question(s)…Is that how it's done in the industry today? Is it close? Or do the pro's actually animate each animation into a separate file? Another thing I was wondering too is that do you guys actually animate the characters in place for walk cycles and such? :shrug:

Thanks

EricChadwick
07-06-2005, 07:38 PM
That's the way it's done, for the most part. We organize our moves a bit differently than others, not really in a linear fashion since we blend between anims. But most do it linearly.