PDA

View Full Version : My First Game character

Mordin
07-05-2005, 03:52 PM
Hi,

I have nt been using Maya for very long and this is my first attempt at a game character. Its based on a comic book character, Mean Machine from Judge Dredd, but its my interpretation.

I have a few questions;

Can you tell me what you think of my modelling? I still have trouble knowing when and where to use triangles, I was always told to use quads- have I done this right. Does the edge flow, etc, look right? ( i have nt painted the weights in the 'Posed' image).

For the mechanical arm I have parented the objects to the joints. Would this work in a game engine?

I have only used 1601 faces/ 2912 tri s (i guess when people talk of poly count its tri s, right?). What sort of limit should I model to these days? I realise it varies from game to game so what would employers like to see?

If I was to add more geometery where should I add it? More edge loops around the legs/body for better deformation? Or more detail to the face?

More questions than I thought! If you got this far thnx, and tell me what you think.

Mordin
07-05-2005, 03:54 PM
And 3 More images added!All comments welcome!

Por@szek
07-05-2005, 07:54 PM
Hi

I'm not some master at characters creating, but I think for a first try its verrryy gooood. Keep it on. The idea is also cool, and I think its a big part of atractiveness.

I'll try to answer few of Your questions.
Polycount its tris - yes. Becouse game engines calculate only tris, every poly is changed to tri. Using of polies , limit , depends of what kind of game is it. I prefer maximum optimized objects. I think that You can always create more poligonal objects . harder is really low poly. Anyway You must know that in rts polycount is different than in fpp game. And also for ps3 and pc also different. You have in here is good. Of course You can make him more attractive creating normal maps, so then it won't need so many polies.