PDA

View Full Version : Anyone with good tutorials/ manuals on XSI v.2.0.1

jazzthief
02-19-2002, 04:24 AM
My local reseller is handing me a 30 day evaluation of XSI v.2.0 for W2K. As a Maya character animator I'm kinda excited using Softimage again - ahhhhhh, the memories. But my reseller is holding out on the manuals. I've been told from my L.A. colleagues that XSI manuals/ tutorials doesn't compare especially with Maya. I tried Amazon.com but there isn't too many books on the package (version 1.0 doesn't count). Mesmer books seemed fairly basic. Which leaves me with you wonderful XSI users on CG TALK. Who I might add are the nicest bunch - nudge, nudge, wink, wink. Anyone who can help out with a first time XSI user it'll be much appreciated.

meloncully
02-19-2002, 04:40 AM
well, i have some softimage manuals. 2.0 that is. If you want them we need to find a way to connect.

________
meloncully

jazzthief
02-19-2002, 05:01 AM
That sounds great! Leave it up to the Soft user group to be charitable. You can contact me via email if we can workout an arrangement.

Merci!

jazzthief@rocketmail.com

jordibares
02-20-2002, 05:41 PM
Although the Maya tutorials are not bad, the rest of the manuals / reference are quite bad _too_.

Documentation this days is getting quite poor i think, although XSI manuals are easier to read, ar least the whole layout.

but this is just my humble opinion. flavour again.

jordibares

dmonk
02-20-2002, 06:41 PM
If you go to www.xsifiles.com they have great tutorials, some are for 2.0

If you can get on the website they have many tutorials for 2.0, but you have to have an account with them.

P.S. www.edharriss.com

good luck

jordibares
02-20-2002, 06:51 PM
mmmm...

Sorry but i am talking about the printed tutorials and printed manuals given with the program. (and their HTML version included in the CD)

:-)

jordibares

bdemong
10-18-2002, 10:33 PM